Statistics   |   Loan Funds   |   Directions   |   Contact Us


The Mount Rogers Planning District consists of two cities -- Galax and Bristol, Virginia -- and six counties -- Bland, Carroll, Grayson, Smyth, Washington, and Wythe. Major towns (those with a population of 3,500 or more) include Abingdon, Marion, and Wytheville. Other incorporated towns in the district are Chilhowie, Damascus, Fries, Glade Spring, Hillsville, Independence, Rural Retreat, Saltville, and Troutdale. According to the 2010 Census, the total population of the district is 193,595.

The planning district lies in two physiographic provinces, the Blue Ridge and the Ridge and Valley. Major arteries of transportation include Interstates 81 and 77, while U.S. Highways 11, 21, 52, 58 and State Highways 16 and 42 also provide important transportation links. Characterized by scenic mountains and fertile valleys, the district offers an abundance of outdoor recreation opportunities and a quality of life found only in rural America.